Tory leadership ballot: Second round results in FULL

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

The Tory leadership ballot has returned its second round results. Suella Braverman has been eliminated from the contest after securing the least amount of votes.

Out of 356 votes cast, the results are as follows: 

  • Rishi Sunak – 101 votes
  • Penny Mordaunt – 83 votes
  • Liz Truss – 64 votes
  • Kemi Badenoch – 49 votes
  • Tom Tugendhat – 32 votes
  • Suella Braverman – 27 votes

Mr Sunak has topped this list once again, winning 101 votes from his fellow MPs.

The former chancellor also won the first round with 88 votes from colleagues, with Ms Mordaunt in second on 67 votes.

Ms Braverman’s promise to remove the authority of the European Court of Human Rights and cut to VAT on energy was not enough to win over enough votes from her colleagues.

Source: Read Full Article