Electoral boundary changes MAPPED: Will your constituency change?

Ed Miliband reflects on losing the 2015 general election

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

The changes are happening to make every constituency’s number of registered voters relatively even, with many longstanding seats set to be redrawn or abolished altogether. The Boundary Commission for England is set to break up a number of longstanding, geographical based seats, an effort that has been going on for a decade.

By law, the commission is required to draw up seats with 69,724 to 77,062 electors to make sure they are balanced in terms of voter numbers.

Keeping the current total of 650 seats, England’s share will rise from 533 to 543.

Scotland will lose two, down to 57, and Wales will drop from 40 to 32.

Northern Ireland will keep 18 parliamentary seats.

Fewer than 10 percent of England’s 533 existing constituencies will go unchanged according to current proposals.

Commission secretary Tim Bowden said: “Today’s proposals mark the first time people get to see what the new map of parliamentary constituencies might look like. But they are just the commission’s initial thoughts.

“We want to hear the views of the public to ensure that we get the new boundaries for Parliamentary constituencies right.”

The Boundary Commissions for Scotland and Wales will publish their proposals separately.

Andrew Neil and Piers Morgan mocked Boris Johnson over dinner [LATEST]
Shake-up of England’s electoral map could hand Boris 10 more seats  [NEWS]
Green Party candidate ‘sorry’ over ‘sexist and homophobic’ tweets [QUOTES]

The new map is expected to be finished in 2023.

Will my constituency change?

This depends on where you live.

The most significant change will take place in London, as the report sets out “significant change is required throughout most of London in order to comply with the permitted electorate range”.

Only two of London’s 73 constituencies are to stay the same.

Among the changes, the existing Cities of London and Westminster seat, which includes Downing Street and Parliament, would be split in three to become City of London and Islington south, and another new constituency, Westminster and Chelsea east.

Sir Keir Starmer’s Holborn and St Pancras seat would also be re-jigged to become Kentish Town and Bloomsbury.

There are few places that will not be affected by the shakeup.

The south-east of England will gain seven new seats, the east of England three, and the south-west also three.

Up north, there will be a drop of two in the north-east, north-west and West Midlands, and one fewer in the east Midlands.

Yorkshire and the Humber will face no changes.

The current proposed changes are just one step in the process of remapping the electorate, however.

The Boundary Commission will now run a series of consultations, with a number of local constituency parties and councils expected to lobby for changes.

The plan comes off the back of two previously failed attempts in the last ten years to change the electoral map.

The last two efforts were abandoned in disarray in 2013 and 2018, where plans had originally been to reduce the House of Commons to 600 seats.

Source: Read Full Article