How Coloradans in Congress voted on certifying Joe Biden’s victory

With two exceptions, Coloradans in Congress voted Wednesday night and into the overnight hours Thursday to certify the 2020 presidential election.

Under the Constitution, it falls on Congress to certify Electoral College results. If one House member and one senator object to a state’s results, both chambers of Congress must debate and ultimately vote on certification, as they did this week.

Two states were formally objected to: Arizona and Pennsylvania. In both cases, Congress rejected the objections and President-elect Joe Biden was certified the winner of the presidential election. He will be inaugurated on Jan. 20.

Regarding Arizona, Rep. Lauren Boebert, a Rifle Republican, and Rep. Doug Lamborn, a Colorado Springs Republican, objected to certifying the election there. The state’s other Republican, Rep. Ken Buck of Windsor, voted to certify.

“1776 is the foundation of our country. Today I signed my name to a document to defend that foundation and our freedom,” Boebert wrote on Twitter, alongside a photo of her signing an objection to Arizona’s election results.

The state’s four House Democrats also voted to certify the election in Arizona. They are Reps. Diana DeGette of Denver, Joe Neguse of Lafayette, Jason Crow of Aurora, and Ed Perlmutter of Arvada.

“In the United States, we accept the results of free and fair elections,” Neguse said in a speech on the House floor. “We don’t ignore the will of the voters…and attempt to install a preferred candidate into power. It doesn’t happen here.”

Over in the Senate, both Coloradans — Democratic Sens. Michael Bennet and John Hickenlooper — voted to certify the election in Arizona.

Later in the evening, Congress considered objections to the electoral results in Pennsylvania. When it came time to vote, the Colorado tallies were similar.

Boebert and Lamborn objected to certifying Pennsylvania’s results, Buck did not vote, and the state’s House Democrats again voted to certify the election.

In the Senate, Bennet and Hickenlooper voted to certify Pennsylvania’s results.

“We’ve got a solemn obligation and responsibility here to prove once again that this country is a nation of laws and not of men,” Bennet said before the vote.

Source: Read Full Article